Breathe Culture

where beautiful mistakes thrive

I ride my bike.

Life is busy, and the north is slowly warming up. Basically that means there is mud, slush, water, and dirt everywhere. Fortunately there is also warm air, and sunshine!  My friend Katie and I have decided to take the month of May to recharge and focus on getting fit. To help me along with this, I decided to buy a bike. Personally I hate biking, but decided that it’s great exercise and having found a bike I thought would actually be fun to ride around helped a lot.

I went to Canadian Tire and bought a wonderful “Cruiser Bike“!  It’s an old school bike with springs in the seat, no gears and the simple back pedal brake. I love it.  It reminds me of what my grandparents would have been riding around on while meeting up with friends at the local ma and pa diner!bike

It is going to be the perfect thing for me to doddle about on, because I know I won’t be going on any “mountain” excursions unless I am in my xterra!

What might just be the best part, is that it came with a basket. Meaning, my lovely little puppy Tonka will be coming along and riding in style!

Next step, gotta buy me a helmet! (Safety First!!)

2 Comments»

  Richard Keatinge wrote @

Cycling is great, welcome to the group! Helmets don’t work – see the Wikipedia article on bicycle helmets – but if having one encourages you to hop on your bike and have transport, fun, and fitness, go ahead.

  breatheculture wrote @

Richard, I agree about the helmets but where I live the police like to give you a nice little fine if you don’t have one. I’d rather save that money for something better 🙂


Leave a comment